by George Taniwaki

LotteChocoPie

Moon pies for cheap. Photo by George Taniwaki

I love moon pies (apparently, I was a southerner in a past life). Surprisingly, they are big in South Korea too (who knew, for history see Wikipedia).

Incidentally, don’t confuse moon pies with moon cakes which are another Asian sweet (which I usually don’t like because of the salty egg flavor).

Anyway, today, I found a really cheap source of my favorite confection. Lotte brand is $3.50 for 335g or 29 cents a pie. Mysteriously, they are hidden next to weird spices in the international food aisle, not prominently displayed with the other cookies in the snack aisle. Perhaps it’s a form of American food protectionism by US cookie makers, Asian segregationist policy or redlining by the store, or the result of some other nativist conspiracy plot.

It’s crazy that a South Korean company can import all the ingredients, process them, ship them back to the U.S., and still be cheaper than US-made cookies. But I don’t care as long as I get my fix of graham cracker, marshmallow, and sugary goodness.

