by George Taniwaki

Which side of your face do you show when someone takes a photograph of you? Most people naturally turn right which shows the left side of their face.

I usually turn left, showing the right side of my face, though that isn’t a natural behavior for me. I learned it as a child. My natural inclination is to face directly at the camera. But in grade school, on picture day, a photographer told me not to look straight at the camera and to turn my head. When I do that, I naturally want to look left, which shows the right side of my head. This is true even though I part my hair on the left.

When asked to turn my head to the right and show the left side of my face, I feel like I am showing off.

The Atlantic Feb 2014 features a video by the science writer Sam Kean that discusses this observation and a theory about why it occurs. It may add insight into the right-brain, left-brain debate.

FacingLeft

Facing Left. Screenshot from The Atlantic

