by George Taniwaki

Check out this proposal I recently saw on Elance, a popular job board that matches consultants like me with small businesses that are looking for help. The spelling, grammar, punctuation, and line breaks are all copied directly from the website.

Bussiness Ideas for a startup

Sales & Marketing > Research & Surveys

ElancePostProfile

I need someone to come up with some business ideas for a start-up business.
However the ideas MUST be validated to show that it is profitable.
you must prove to me somehow that atleast 3 people are willing to pay money for this idea.
the proof should be strong and show that people are genuinely willing to take the effort to pay for the idea and are not just participating in wishful thinking.
you can do this validation any way you like, there are plenty of creative ways you can do it. and you don’t have to take anyone’s money.
a quick and rough example is pretending you have a product in limited numbers.
ask people if they like the product. if they do ask them to pay for it.
when they are trying to pay for it tell them you have run out.
and then show me the proof
now this is a just a quick and rough example but you get my idea.

Desired Skills

Business Analysis, Direct Marketing, Internet Marketing, Market Research, Craigslist

****

Well, geez, if I had a great idea that I knew I could sell, why would I want to work for you?

Below is one of the proposals this post received as a response:

ElanceResponseProfile

I have led over 300 clients to “leap over” their competition and become the # 1 dominant most successful business for their niche in their market….

Skills

GREATLY INCREASING SUCCESS FOR MY CLIENTS

****

All I can say is that these two entrepreneurs are simply made for each other.

