Harvey Mysel of the Living Kidney Donors Network has just posted an excellent video promoting his Community Outreach Initiative. He is encouraging people who have an interest in chronic kidney disease to go out and spread the word that any healthy person is capable of becoming a kidney donor and that all responsible adults should consider the possibility of becoming a kidney donor. Well, I’m interested in getting in front of a room of strangers and saying just that.

If you are a member of a Chamber of Commerce, Rotary Club, Knights of Columbus, or another church or community group and would like me to be a guest speaker, just contact me at gtaniwaki77 (at) hotmail.com. In my talk, I won’t sugar coat the experience. Becoming a donor is not easy. The evaluation is stringent and can take time. There are risks involved, both medical and psychological. But the benefits to the patient are enormous.

HarveyMysel

Harvey Mysel makes an appeal for speakers. Video still from LKDN

My offer to speak to community groups is in addition to my previously stated plans to provide LKDN training to kidney patients to help them successfully find a living kidney donor.

