I just completed an apheresis plasma donation at the Puget Sound Blood Center. I give blood* about two to four times a year, and have been doing so regularly since I’ve been in college. I guess that makes me a member of the ten gallon club, though I don’t think I’ll ever be able to beat this guy’s record.

This is probably my last plasma donation for the next year or so, since I won’t be allowed to donate after my donor nephrectomy. I’ll miss the cookies and juice they always hand out** at the blood center. I hope the transplant center gives me lots of both. I believe they will quicken my recovery time and reduce the chances of psychological complications (see Feb 2010 blog post).

*I recently switched from donating blood to donating plasma, see Sep 2008 blog post for an explanation why.

**Does anyone know how this practice started? Every blood center and bloodmobile I’ve ever been to does this.

