As I mentioned in my Tuesday blog post, I had my fifth appointment at the Univ Washington Medical Center to have a split renogram test. Afterwards, I ordered a CD with my test results. The CD arrived in the mail today. It consists of the two images shown below. Not as cool as the CT scan, but still definitely worth the price.

The image below shows a series of images of my abdomen over time. The dark spots show the concentration of the MAG3 tracer captured by the gamma camera. The first two rows show 16 images taken one second apart. Notice how quickly the tracer perfuses through the abdomen, and starts to collect in the kidneys. My left kidney is on the left of the image and is higher and larger than the right one.

The last three rows show 20 images taken two minutes apart. Here you can see that within six minutes (third image in third row) nearly all of the MAG3 tracer is already in the kidneys. The tracer begins to be excreted through the ureters and collected in the bladder. By 20 minutes (fourth image in fourth row) nearly all of the tracer has been filtered out by the kidneys and is in the bladder. I’m still amazed how fast and how thoroughly the kidneys remove molecules and ions from the blood.

SplitRenogramImage

Image from UWMC

The line chart below compares the filtration rate of the left kidney (red dashes) with the right (green) and the fill rate of the bladder (blue). The peak output of the left kidney is about 30% higher than the peak of the right, but they both peak at the same time and they track closely thereafter. The table on the right shows that my left kidney filtered 56% of the MAG3 while my right kidney filtered 44%. Notice the image in the lower right showing the selection rings the radiologist used to define the location of the left kidney, right kidney, and bladder.

SplitRenogramChart

Image from UWMC

[Update: The UWMC transplant coordinator and I spoke on Nov 16. My split renogram test result is inconclusive, so the surgeon wants to consult with the radiologist before deciding which kidney to remove.]

