I’m returning to the UWMC for my second appointment to have my PPD skin test examined. I also drop off my first urine sample for the creatinine clearance rate test and have blood drawn to measure my serum creatinine level. I check in at the front desk of the organ transplant center and take a seat.

While I am waiting, I overhear the receptionist telling a patient that even though he is the donor, he has to sign a financial responsibility form. The receptionist says, “Its difficult to explain, but you just have to sign the form.” The patient doesn’t look happy but signs his name. (Hmm, the UWMC really ought to address this source of anxiety for kidney donors.)

****

Afterwards, as I am leaving the medical center, there is a crowd of people blocking the main entrance. They are all wearing business attire and saying farewell to a man wearing a black suit and black shoes. Then I notice his shoes are streaked with bright-colored paint. As I approach the group I realize the man in the center is the artist Dale Chihuly. Not sure what to do, I say “Hello,” tell him that I am a big fan of his work (which is true), and shake his hand.

DaleChihulyatPilchuck

Dale Chihuly. Photo from Wikipedia

This reminds me of an anecdote. Several years ago, my wife and I were in London on vacation. One day we visited the Victoria and Albert Museum. In the lobby there was a very large, amazingly beautiful chandelier consisting of hundreds of snake-like glass tubes. I mentioned to her that the design was highly reminiscent of the Chihuly style (I think “rip off” was the phrase I actually used). Of course, it turns out that it was a Chihuly. We had traveled a quarter way around the world in order to see a masterpiece produced by an artist who lives a few miles from our house.

VandA_Rotunda

Chandelier in lobby of the Victoria and Albert Museum. Photo from Wikipedia

****

Oh, and my PPD skin test is negative, I don’t have tuberculosis.

